Essex Region Conservation

the place for life



admin@erca.org

Phone 519-776-5209 Fax 519-776-8688 360 Fairview Avenue West Suite 311, Essex, ON N8M 1Y6

Tuesday, January 4, 2022

Town of Amherstburg Attention: Mayor Aldo DiCarlo 271 Sandwich Street South Amherstburg, ON N9V 2A5

Dear Mayor DiCarlo,

Re: Changes to the Conservation Authorities Act and Municipal Representation

In 2018, the Town of Amherstburg appointed Councillor Peter Courtney (Resolution #20181210-402) and in early 2019 (Resolution #20190128-027), lay person Ms. Marolyn Morrison to the Essex Region Conservation Authority Board of Directors as representatives from the municipality. Since her appointment to the Board of Directors in 2019, Marolyn Morrison has been an active and engaged board member. Her depth of experience in Conservation Authority matters and broad understanding of the work of Conservation Authorities has enabled Ms. Morrison to be a valuable contributor on the Essex Region Conservation Authority Board.

The province recently updated the <u>Conservation Authority Act</u>, <u>R.S.O. 1990</u>, <u>c. C.27</u>, the legislation governing the Essex Region Conservation Authority. One such change as outlined in the Act states,

Members of council appointed

14 (1.1) When appointing members of an authority, the council of a participating municipality shall ensure that at least 70 per cent of its appointees are selected from among the members of municipal council, subject to subsection (1.2).

As a result of changes to the Act, ERCA has updated Administrative Bylaws, endorsed by the Board (Resolution 95/21), to reflect these requirements in Board composition and municipal appointments.

In order to comply with Part IV, of the Act and the ERCA's Administrative Bylaws, with respect to the appointment of members, the Authority requests at this time to be advised of the Town of Amherstburg intention under one of the two options provided:

1) The appointment of a member of the Town of Amherstburg municipal council to replace Marolyn Morrison on the ERCA Board of Directors at the earliest possible date, or,



2) Under the Act, there is a provision for an exemption under 14 (1.2) which states "Upon application by a participating municipality, the Minister may grant permission to the municipality to select less than 70 per cent of its appointees to an authority from among the members of the municipal council, subject to such conditions or restrictions a the Minister considers appropriate. 2020, c. 36, Sched. 6, s. 2 (2)." Should the Town of Amherstburg wish to apply for an exemption, ERCA has been advised that correspondence be directed to The Honourable David Piccini, Minister of Environment, Conservation and Parks at ca.office@ontario.ca.

On behalf of Administration and the Board, we would like to thank Ms. Morrison for lending her expertise and advocacy of conservation authority matters to our Board and look forward to receiving instruction from the Town of Amherstburg on its resolution to this matter.

Should you require further information, please contact me by email at tbyrne@erca.org or by phone at 519-796-2300.

Regards,

Tim Byrne, CAO/Secretary-Treasurer

Cc: Tania Jobin, Chair Marolyn Morrison, Amherstburg