## THE CORPORATION OF THE TOWN OF AMHERSTBURG

## **BY-LAW NO 2024-018**

## By-law to Appoint Members to a Licensing Committee

**WHEREAS** Council of the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg has duly enacted By-law No. 2025-002 being a By-Law to regulate business licensing in the Town of Amherstburg;

**AND WHEREAS** Council of the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg has duly enacted By-law No. 2023-059 being a By-law to regulate short term rentals in the Town of Amherstburg;

**AND WHEREAS** Section. 3.25(1) of By-law No. 2024-019 requires that Council appoint a Licensing Committee AND section 9.1 of By-law No. 2023-059 requires that Council appoint a Licensing Committee;

**NOW THEREFORE,** the Council of the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg enacts as follows:

- 1. Background: a) Under s. 238 of the Municipal Act 2001, every municipality shall pass a procedure by-law for governing the calling, place and proceedings of meetings. b) The Statutory Powers Procedure Act sets out rules of procedures that apply to proceedings of the Licensing Committee ("Committee").
- 2. Authority: a) The Committee has been established under the authority of s. 252 of the Municipal Act 2001, and the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg Licensing By-law 2025-002, which was passed on March 25, 2024 and came into force on March 25, 2024 and the Short-Term Rental By-law 2023-059 which passed on May 23, 2023 and came in force on May 23, 2023.
- 3. THAT the Licensing Committee for the Corporation of the Town of Amherstburg is hereby constituted and the following persons are hereby appointed as its members for the 2022-2026 term of Council or until their successors are appointed;
  - Anne Creery
  - Dan Gemus
  - David Mazza
  - Del Oxford
  - Ryan D'Alimonte
- 4. THAT the remuneration paid to the Committee members shall be \$75.00 per meeting attended.
- 5. THAT this by-law shall come into force and take effect immediately upon the final passing thereof.

READ a first, second and third time and finally passed this 24<sup>th</sup> day of March 2025.

MAYOR – MICHAEL PRUE
CLERK – KEVIN FOX