

## TOWN OF AMHERSTBURG

# ACCESSIBILITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING

## MINUTES

## Thursday, January 23, 2025 5:00 P.M. Council Chambers 271 Sandwich Street South, Amherstburg, ON, N9V 2A5

PRESENT	Shirley Curson-Prue - Chair Tony Pietrangelo - Vice Chair Councillor Donald McArthur Marc Renaud Christopher Drew Christine Easterbrook <i>(Electronic Participant)</i> William Whittall
STAFF PRESENT	Kevin Fox - Staff Liaison, Clerk Selena Scebba - Recording Secretary

## 1. CALL TO ORDER

The Recording Secretary called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

## 2. ROLL CALL

### 3. CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

### 3.1 Nomination of Chair

**Moved by** T. Pietrangelo **Seconded by** C. Drew

That Shirley Curson-Prue **BE APPOINTED** Chair of the Amherstburg Accessibility Advisory Committee.

The Recording Secretary put the motion.

## Motion Carried

### 3.2 Nomination of Vice Chair

Moved by S. Curson-Prue Seconded by C. Drew

That Tony Pietrangelo **BE APPOINTED** Vice Chair of the Amherstburg Accessibility Advisory Committee.

The Recording Secretary put the motion.

## Motion Carried

The Chair assumed control of the meeting.

## 4. DISCLOSURE OF PECUNIARY INTEREST & GENERAL NATURE THEREOF

There were no disclosures noted.

### 5. LAND ACKNOWLEDGMENT

The following land acknowledgment was read, "We will begin by acknowledging that the land on which we gather is the traditional territory of the Three Fires Confederacy of First Nations (comprising the Ojibway, the Odawa, and the Potawatomie Peoples), and of the Huron-Wendat and Wyandot Peoples. We recognize the land as an expression of gratitude to those whose traditional territory we reside on, and a way of honouring the Indigenous people who have been living and thriving on the land since time immemorial. We value the significant historical and contemporary contributions of local and regional First Nations and all of the Original Peoples of Turtle Island."

#### 6. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

### 6.1 Amherstburg Accessibility Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes -December 5, 2024

**Moved by** C. Drew **Seconded by** Councillor McArthur

That the Amherstburg Accessibility Advisory Committee meeting minutes of December 5, 2024 **BE ADOPTED**.

The Chair put the motion.

Motion Carried

#### 7. ORDER OF BUSINESS

#### 7.1 Amherstburg Accessibility Advisory Committee Meeting Schedule for 2025

**Moved by** T. Pietrangelo **Seconded by** Councillor McArthur

That the proposed 2025 Amherstburg Accessibility Advisory Committee Meeting Schedule **BE ADOPTED**.

The Chair put the motion.

### **Motion Carried**

#### 7.2 Parks Master Plan 2025 Consultation

#### 7.3 Site Plan Review - 6754 County Road 50

Moved by C. Drew Seconded by T. Pietrangelo

That the site plan for 6754 County Road 50 **BE RECEIVED**.

The Chair put the motion.

### **Motion Carried**

Moved by T. Pietrangelo Seconded by C. Drew That the Amherstburg Accessibility Advisory Committee **RECOMMEND** to Administration that the site plan for 6754 County Road 50 include the following elements:

- 1. The signage for the accessible parking space be amended to note it as being "Van Accessible" in compliance with section 80.34 of the Integrated Accessibility Standards Regulation;
- 2. The site plan include a tactile surface indicator plate at the ramp access adjacent to the barrier free route of travel for the access aisle; and,
- 3. The placement of accessible parking space be adjacent to the entry into the facility.

The Chair put the motion.

Motion Carried

## 8. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

### 9. NEW BUSINESS

### 10. ADJOURNMENT

Moved by C. Drew Seconded by M. Renaud

That the Committee **ADJOURN** at 6:18 p.m.

The Chair put the motion.

## Motion Carried

Shirley Curson-Prue - Chair

Selena Scebba - Recording Secretary