

# TOWN OF AMHERSTBURG ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE MEETING MINUTES

## Thursday, January 16, 2025 5:00 P.M. Council Chambers 271 Sandwich Street South, Amherstburg, ON, N9V 2A5

PRESENT Patricia Simone - Chair

Alan Buterbaugh - Vice Chair (Electronic Participant)

Councillor Diane Pouget

Councillor Linden Crain (Electronic Participant)

Jack Edwards

Kenneth Morrison (Electronic Participant)
Michael Deneau (Electronic Participant)

STAFF PRESENT Melissa Osborne - Staff Liaison, Director of Development

Services/Deputy CAO

Jennifer Ibrahim - Manager of Economic Development and

Tourism

Kevin Fox - Clerk

Selena Scebba - Recording Secretary

#### 1. CALL TO ORDER

The Recording Secretary called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m.

#### 2. ROLL CALL

#### 3. CALL FOR NOMINATIONS

#### 3.1 Nomination of Chair

**Moved by** Councillor Pouget **Seconded by** Councillor Crain

That Patricia Simone **BE APPOINTED** Chair of the Economic Development Advisory Committee.

The Recording Secretary put the motion.

**Motion Carried** 

#### 3.2 Nomination of Vice Chair

Moved by J. Edwards
Seconded by Councillor Pouget

That Alan Buterbaugh **BE APPOINTED** Vice Chair of the Economic Development Advisory Committee.

The Recording Secretary put the motion.

**Motion Carried** 

The Chair assumed control of the meeting.

#### 4. DISCLOSURE OF PECUNIARY INTEREST & GENERAL NATURE THEREOF

There were no disclosures noted.

#### 5. LAND ACKNOWLEDGMENT

We will begin by acknowledging that the land on which we gather is the traditional territory of the Three Fires Confederacy of First Nations (comprising the Ojibway, the Odawa, and the Potawatomie Peoples), and of the Huron-Wendat and Wyandot Peoples. We recognize the land as an expression of gratitude to those whose traditional territory we reside on, and a way of honouring the Indigenous people who have been living and thriving on the land since time immemorial. We value the significant historical and contemporary

contributions of local and regional First Nations and all of the Original Peoples of Turtle Island.

#### 6. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

### 6.1 Economic Development Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes - November 21, 2024

Moved by J. Edwards Seconded by K. Morrison

That the Economic Development Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes of November 21, 2024 **BE ADOPTED**.

The Chair put the motion.

**Motion Carried** 

#### 7. DELEGATIONS

There were no delegations.

#### 8. ORDER OF BUSINESS

#### 8.1 Economic Development Advisory Committee Meeting Schedule for 2025

**Moved by** A. Buterbaugh **Seconded by** Councillor Pouget

That the proposed 2025 Economic Development Advisory Committee meeting schedule **BE ADOPTED**.

The Chair put the motion

**Motion Carried** 

#### 8.2 Business Licensing By-law Report

**Moved by** A. Buterbaugh **Seconded by** Councillor Crain

That the Economic Development Advisory Committee support the proposed fee structure provided that Council moves forward with the Business Licensing By-

law and provided that redundancies, if any, with third-party inspections are removed.

The Chair put the motion.

	Yes/Concur	No/Not Concur
Michael Deneau	х	
Kenneth Morrison		Х
Councillor Crain	X	
Alan Buterbaugh	X	
Jack Edwards	X	
Councillor Pouget		X
Patricia Simone		X

#### **Motion Carried**

- 8.3 2024 Marketing Efforts and Looking Forward in 2025
- 8.4 Economic Development Week 2025
- 8.5 Economic Development Newsletter January 2025 Issue
- 9. UNFINISHED BUSINESS
- 10. NEW BUSINESS

Moved by P. Simone Seconded by Councillor Pouget

That the Economic Development Advisory Committee **RECOMMEND** that Council request that County Council pause or reverse their decision to cut the budget to Invest Windsor Essex and the Town of Amherstburg.

The Vice Chair put the motion.

	Yes/Concur	No/Not Concur
Michael Deneau	Х	
Kenneth Morrison	X	
Councillor Crain	Х	
Alan Buterbaugh	Х	
Jack Edwards	X	
Councillor Pouget	х	
Patricia Simone	х	

**Motion Carried** 

**Motion Carried** 

#### 11. ADJOURNMENT

**Moved by** Councillor Pouget **Seconded by** K. Morrison

That the Committee **ADJOURN** at 6:50 p.m.

The Chair put the motion.

Patricia Simone - Chair
Selena Scebba - Recording Secretary