

## CORPORATION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF SOUTH HURON

322 Main Street South P.O. Box 759 Exeter Ontario

N0M 1S6

Phone: 519-235-0310 Fax: 519-235-3304 Toll Free: 1-877-204-0747

www.southhuron.ca

October 15, 2024

Via email: doug.fordco@pc.org

Premier's Office Room 281 Legislative Building, Queen's Park Toronto, ON M7A 1A1

Dear Honourable Doug Ford

## Re: Heritage Advisory Committee

Please be advised that South Huron Council passed the following resolution at their October 7, 2024, Regular Council Meeting:

Motion: 355-2024 Moved By: Aaron Neeb

Seconded by: Marissa Vaughan

Whereas the South Huron Heritage Advisory Committee has presented a letter to South Huron Council outlining concerns regarding heritage preservation in South Huron; and

Whereas prior to Royal Assent of the More Homes Built Faster Act, 2022 Subsection 29(1.2) of the Ontario Heritage Act provided Council of a Municipality the opportunity to give a notice of intention to designate a property within 90 days of a prescribed event; and

Whereas the More Homes Built Faster Act, 2022 amended Subsection 29(1.2) of the Ontario Heritage Act to provide that Council may give notice of intention to designate a property only if the property is listed in the register under subsection 27 (3), or a predecessor of that subsection, as of the date of the prescribed event; and

Whereas the Heritage Advisory Committee has noted concerns regarding this amendment limiting the authority of municipal councils to designate properties with the potential to undermine the effectiveness of heritage preservation efforts across the province; and

Whereas the Heritage Advisory Committee has provided correspondence, attached hereto, to South Huron Council in relation to the concerns requesting Council support and to communicate these concerns to the Province and forward a copy of this motion to the Association of Municipalities of Ontario, Municipal Councils across the province, and Provincial MPP.

Now therefore be it resolved that the Corporation for the Municipality of South Huron request the Province reconsider the amendment to Subsection 29(1.2) of the Ontario Heritage Act; and that this motion and attached correspondence be forwarded to the Premier of Ontario, Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Minister of Citizenship and Multiculturalism, Association of Municipalities of Ontario, Municipal Councils across the province and MPP Thompson

Result: Carried

Please find attached the originating correspondence for your reference.

Respectfully,

Kendra Webster, Legislative & Licensing Coordinator Municipality of South Huron <a href="mailto:kwebster@southhuron.ca">kwebster@southhuron.ca</a> 519-235-0310 x. 232

## Encl.

Minister of Municipal Affairs and Housing, Hon. Paul Calandra, CC: Paul.Calandra@pc.ola.org: Minister of Citizenship and Multiculturalism. Hon. Michael Ford, Michael.Ford@pc.ola.org; MPP Huron-Bruce, Hon. Lisa Thompson, Lisa. Thompson@pc.ola.org; AMO, resolutions@amo.on.ca, Township of Ashfield-Colborne-Wawanosh, info@acwtownship.ca, Municipality of Bluewater, info@municipalityofbluewater.ca, Municipality of Central Huron, info@centralhuron.com, Town of Goderich, townhall@goderich.ca, Township of Howick, clerk@howick.ca, Municipality of Huron East, clerk@huroneast.com, Municipality of Morris-Turnberry, mail@morristurnberry.ca, Township of North Huron, clamb@northhuron.ca, Muncipality of North Perth, info@northperth.ca, Township of Perth South, Iscott@perthsouth.ca, Township of Perth East, acarter@pertheast.ca, Municipality of West Perth, clerk@westperth.com, Town of St. Marys, clerksoffice@town.stmarys.on.ca, City of Stratford, clerks@stratford.ca, Municipality of Brook-Alvinston. idenkers@brookealvinston.com, Township of Dawn-Euphemia, clerk@dawneuphemia.on.ca, Township of Enniskillen, dmctavish@enniskillen.ca, Municipality of Lambton Shores, clerks@lambtonshores.ca, Village of Oil Springs, clerk@oilsprings.ca, Town of Petrolia, petrolia@petrolia.ca, Town of



## **CORPORATION OF THE MUNICIPALITY OF SOUTH HURON**

322 Main Street South P.O. Box 759 Exeter Ontario

NOM 1S6

Phone: 519-235-0310 Fax: 519-235-3304 Toll Free: 1-877-204-0747

www.southhuron.ca

Plympton-Wyoming, <a href="mailto:ekwarciak@plympton-wyoming.ca">ekwarciak@plympton-wyoming.ca</a>, Village of Point Edward, <a href="mailto:jburns@villageofpointedward.com">jburns@villageofpointedward.com</a>, City of Sarnia, <a href="mailto:clerks@sarnia.ca">clerks@sarnia.ca</a>, Township of St. Clair, <a href="mailto:webmaster@twp.stclair.on.ca">webmaster@twp.stclair.on.ca</a>, Township of Warwick, <a href="mailto:info@warwicktownship.ca">info@warwicktownship.ca</a>, Municipality of Adelaide-Metcalfe, <a href="mailto:info@adelaidemetcalfe.on.ca">info@warwicktownship.ca</a>, Municipality of Lucan-Biddulph, <a href="mailto:clerk@lucanbiddulph.on.ca">clerk@lucanbiddulph.on.ca</a>, Municipality of Middlesex Centre, <a href="mailto:hutson@middlesex.ca">hutson@middlesex.ca</a>, Municipality of North Middlesex, <a href="mailto:ashleyk@northmiddlesex.on.ca">ashleyk@northmiddlesex.on.ca</a>, Municipality of Southwest Middlesex, <a href="mailto:ashleyk@northmiddlesex.ca">ashleyk@northmiddlesex.on.ca</a>, Municipality of Strathroy-Caradoc, <a href="mailto:bdakin@strathroy-caradoc.ca">bdakin@strathroy-caradoc.ca</a>, Municipality of Thames Centre, <a href="mailto:tmichiels@thamescentre.on.ca">tmichiels@thamescentre.on.ca</a>, Village of Newbury, <a href="mailto:case@newbury.ca">case@newbury.ca</a>.